In the interest of getting a job at some point in my life, I won't detail my full trip to Amsterdam. Amsterdam is a truly beautiful city. The beautiful buildings compliment the pristine canals like the neon lights compliment the shiny thongs of the hookers. No, but really the architecture is nothing short of gorgeous. I always wonder if Europeans come to America and say "Wow, the buildings are so beautiful here!". Then it dawns on me. No, they don't.
It was lots of fun to just walk through the city and see all the sites. I took a canal tour, of which I was fully awake for 0 whole minutes. We went to the Torture Museum. I could make a terrible torture pun, or I could just tell you that it was the shittiest museum I've ever been to. Poor lighting and paintings that were clearly done by 1st graders on drugs. I'd like my 7.50 back please. Outside of that, we really didn't do all that much in Amsterdam, but just looking was fairly enjoyable.
The Red Light District is...interesting. There are poor young ladies who can't afford clothes standing in windows. And guys go in and they close the curtains. Weird. But seriously, I knew it was disgusting, but I didn't realize it was that disgusting. Talk about shameless, people go in in front of everyone! This one goofy looking dude with a 6 to 1 forehead to rest of head ratio went in and came out a short while later to his friends cheering him on. Really setting the bar low on thing that deserve a cheer.
My flight back to Copenhagen departed at 9 in the morning on Sunday. I decided I would just stay out late and go straight to the airport instead of booking a hostel. In related news, I'm an idiot. I ended up spending 9 hours in a completely empty airport. Luckily, I'm really good at sleeping in uncomfortable spots, so it wasn't that big a deal.
-There was a lot of America hate in Amsterdam. My friends and I were flat out refused service at a restaurant. I've heard pretty frequently "Americans are ignorant and stupid". This is of course, hilariously ironic, because taking 350 million people from a country known for it's diversity, lumping them together, and saying "they are ALL ignorant and stupid" is nothing short of ignorant and stupid. If I were to say "everyone from country x is dumb", that's racist, discriminatory, stereotyping, etc. If I were to say "everyone from America is stupid", that's just true? Yay double standards. And that's my rant.
-A few weeks ago I saw a fight between two teenage girls. It was awesome. That's pretty much all I can say on that matter while staying in the realm of appropriateness.
-I just got without a doubt the worst haircut in my entire life. That's saying something after the debacle that was my hair from 2002-2004. But anyways, it looked just fine until the hair cutter asked if I wanted it thinned. I said yes, the worst decision of my day. Apparently thinned translates to "absolutely massacred" in Swedish, and so the horror began. My lovely (and blind) stylist pulled out a pair of "thinning scissors" which are cleverly disguised as those scissors you use in kindergarten to cut fun patterns into construction paper. Great fun with paper, not quite as pretty with hair. I never thought I'd say this, but I miss you Great Clips. You'd think after 8 years of awful haircuts, I'd learn my lesson and not go to the cheapest place possible. But nooooooo. Oh ya, and my hair is vaguely mullety.